vegan pumpkin pie

Like many of you, I am thankful for a world where there are Octobers! Call me a basic #!*&$ if you wish, but I can’t get enough of cozy sweaters, ponchos, brown boots, a cool breeze, and of course everything pumpkin! If it’s pumpkin, I want it! Candles, lattes, pies, you name it!

If you’ve only ever had the plain old, store bought pumpkin pie, let me tell you, you’re missing out! I’ve had the pleasure of tasting a few different homemade pumpkin pies, a deliciousness I just cannot explain! Unfortunately, I can’t take credit for this recipe, but it’s just so good that it needs to be shared! The recipe is actually a combination of two separate recipes – one for the crust and another for the filling. They were both recommended to me by a friend who is vegan, and although I am not vegan myself, I do appreciate a delicious dairy-free dessert!

So here it is!

Crust:

1 cup flaked, unsweetened coconut

1 cup pecan pieces

1/2 cup all purpose flour blend (I used whole wheat flour, but gluten free options can also be used)

1/2 cup light brown sugar

2 tsp ground cinnamon

5 Tbsp vegan butter (I used becel vegan margarine)

Instructions:

Preheat over to 350ºF.

Add all dry ingredients into a food processor and pulse until the mixture looks like coarse sand. Add vegan butter/margarine and pulse in short bursts until the crumbs are moist and begin to fall away from the sides of the bowl.

Dump mixture into a 8″ springform pan and spread evenly. Use your fingers to press the crumbs over the bottom and slightly up the sides (about 1cm is sufficient).

Bake for about 7 minutes in center of the oven.

Filling:

I tsp pumpkin pie spice

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp salt

2 tsp baking powder

1/3 cup flour (again, I used all purpose whole wheat flour)

1/3 cup + 2 Tbsp brown sugar

1 (15 oz) can pumpkin puree

3/4 cup plus 2 Tbsp milk of choice (I used soy milk)

2 Tbsp oil, or omit oil and increase milk to 1 cup (I used olive oil)

1 Tbsp ground flax

2 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 400º.

In a large mixing bowl, combine pumpkin pie spice, cinnamon, salt, baking powder, flour and brown sugar, and stir very well.

In a separate bowl, combine milk, oil, flax and vanilla and whisk together.

Pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients and stir to combine, then pour into pan overtop of crust.

Bake 35 minutes, and allow to cool completely before transferring uncovered to the fridge. Allow to set in fridge for at least 6 hours.

Note: I usually top the pie with leftover pecans from the crust (before baking), and serve with coconut whipped cream (delicious)!

Let me know what you think!

~ATS

Leave a comment